+1
Answered

Overlaid avatar that says something different each time its loaded

ryan 12 years ago updated 12 years ago 25
My goal is to pockmark my site with a little '?' button that when clicked opens up my avatar in her overlaid format - but I'd like her to be able to say a different audio for each button. I've tried it using the sayAudio command, but since I'm not a programmer, I'm certain my syntax is off or something when I'm trying to call both the overlay and the sayAudio command simultaneously. If anybody knows how to accomplish this, I'd appreciate the help.
Ryan -
why not setup a different Scene for each one of the "?" buttons?
Your SitePal account supports unlimited Scenes - seems like the simplest solution.
Hope this helps
Gil
Thanks Gil. I thought of that. But the problem I encounter is that there are multiple "?" buttons on each page and the overlay command from one button seems to interfere with the others on the page too.
I think the most ideal solution would be to use the sayText command and just add my text into the code for each button. My problem is that I am unsure how the javascript call should be structured to invoke an overlaid avatar, and pass either the text to be spoken thru the sayText command, or just call an audio with the sayAudio command.
Sure - that can work.
You would want to open your Scene initially in Min mode.
Then when user clicks "?" call overlayOpen - and sayText (or sayAudio) right after.
I don't have a relevant example handy - I'll see if I can find.
Gil
I cannot get my overlaid avatar to say something different using javascript. Nothing I do with sayAudio or sayText influences the avatar. It just keeps on saying the same thing. I probably have my code structured incorrectly. I just need to see an example of code that opens an overlay, and passes either a sayAudio or sayText command along with the overlay call.